Experience · Personal

Finally Saw Nathan Sykes!

I was in high school when I discovered The Wanted, British-Irish boy band composed of Jay McGuiness, Siva Kaneswaran, Max George, Tom Parker and Nathan Sykes. Among the group, Nathan is my ultimate fave and crush!I’m telling you there’s more to him other than his insanely good looks and his voice which captivated the hearts of many fans!

The Wanted came here in Manila last September 2012. Being young and innocent back then, I failed to see them perform. I was even bargaining just for Nathan Sykes but nah, it did not happen! *sobs* Years passed and unfortunately, The Wanted will no longer produce good music nor be together performing. So much pain felt thinking that there’ll be no chance to see Nathan Sykes, I kept myself updated with his life through Twitter and Instagram instead.


But Nathan’s gone solo last year and now he’s here in Manila to release his maxi-CD. He’s been promoting his music in various TV and radio and mall shows. Plus, he’s one of the performers for Smart Music Live.

With the considerable amount of his events this week, I was wondering if I have the chance. Two of my bookworm friends were also fans of Nathan Sykes and they’ve got tickets at Smart Music Live. I wasn’t able to get some since we had prior family agenda on ticket disseminating day. I wanted to see Nathan, I was waiting for him for years but there’s no way to see him. Accepting defeat, I told myself, “Some other time.” My sad, pathetic rants were posted days before at Twitter and Snapchat.

July 14, 2016 – the day of Smart Music Live at Araneta Coliseum – I decided to lessen my usage of social media. Perhaps, ignore the updates and hash tags for a day and just pretend there’s nothing going on. Sometime noon, I just woke up several minutes after, my best friend Gessie asked me if I wanted to see Nathan Sykes that night. OF COURSE I WANTED TO SEE HIM. Who wouldn’t believe that my sad, pathetic tweets and snaps has gotten me 2 patron tickets?!


Well so much for the story!

THAT NIGHT

My cousin Cloie and I were able to capture photos up close. I’m going to give back the kindness and blessings showered to me, here are some of them…

Monster RX 93.1 weekday radio show Morning Rush DJs Chico, Delamar and GIno hosted the night
Monster RX 93.1 weekday radio show Morning Rush DJs Chico, Delamar and GIno hosted the night
Up Dharma Down, one of the performers for Smart Music Live.
Up Dharma Down, one of the performers for Smart Music Live.
Up Dharma Down performs "All The Good Things"
Up Dharma Down performs “All The Good Things”
Pinoy Rock Band, Aegis, sings their phenomenal hits such as "Halik" and "Basang-basa Sa Ulan" and "Luha"
Pinoy Rock Band, Aegis, sings their phenomenal hits such as “Halik” and “Basang-basa Sa Ulan” and “Luha”


The one we’re waiting for, who I came for and who definitely made my night…

Nathan Sykes as he steps on stage to perform "Kiss Me Quick" for Smart Music Live
Nathan Sykes with his mug as he steps on stage to perform “Kiss Me Quick”
I was stunned by Nathan Sykes! Super fangirling mode is on.
I was stunned by Nathan Sykes! Super fangirling mode is on.
Nathan Sykes pointing at the crowd while singing "Kiss Me Quick"
Nathan Sykes pointing at the crowd while singing “Kiss Me Quick”

In different angles, Nathan was pointing and staring at someone in the crowd. I’m telling you guys that I was one of them!!! *swoon!*

Nathan Sykes sings the catchy song "Give It Up"
Nathan Sykes performs the catchy song “Give It Up”

Having seated on the second row, I was this close to Nath sans camera zoom. Thankful as ever!!!

Nathan readying himself to play "Over and Over Again"
Nathan readying himself to play “Over and Over Again”

When my cousin and I arrived, we were so pumped to find out that we’re sitting in front of the piano. Well, we very much know that Nath will be using it! So kilig and giddy. Before he played, he was adjusting his seat and stuff. There was an exchange of “Hi” and I was surprised he heard me and said, “Oh hey, hi!” and all the little talks he did. *I fainted and died a bit~*

Nathan Sykes capturing the hearts of Manila fans while playing "Over and Over Again"
“Over and Over Again” Nathan in piano and vocals! What else can this beautiful boy do?

We thought that we’re lucky enough to see Nath play the piano. However, the camera guy was there. He’s the only one to witness Nath play super close! No hate to the guy, he’s doing his job. Though I was assuming that maybe he could’ve moved just a little bit to the left *wink*.

After three song performances, Nathan took a bow
After three song performances, Nathan took a bow

Knowing the words by heart, it was very surreal to sing along with my crush! Was that statement too much too handle? It may not be enough for just 3 songs for the night but I’m very thankful and satisfied with my seat. Again, he’s just right there in front of me playing the piano. The lyrics from “Over and Over Again” sums up the feels:

So, don’t ever think I need more. I’ve got the one to live for. No one else will do, and
I’m telling you…


Shortly after Nathan Sykes’ my cousin and I went home and weren’t able to witness Ely Buendia and the festive goodnight as what I saw on Twitter. Bidding farewell to my friends, Sasa and Albea through text messages, I know we all enjoyed the night.

IMG_8001

I waited for years. Now that he’s here I thought I’ll never get the chance again. It may be a last minute invite but it’s never too late for a dream to turn into reality. All in God’s perfect timing!

 


Thoughts about my blog post? Have you seen Nathan Sykes too or any celebrity crush of yours?

Let life occur! xx

 

One thought on “Finally Saw Nathan Sykes!

Leave a Reply

