Experience

Orphanage Visit: Fellowship To Keep

I always enjoy creating blog title images and much more with writing the content

Students, especially those who are in college, are having their sem break. A few weeks off from school, or from the name itself – a semestral break. It is our chance to do our thing, the usual things we do as teenagers haha. I bet some of us go out with friends, catch up and see the real them. Though there’s FaceTime, Facebook, Twitter and whatever- it is always the best to see your non-virtual besties. But some students are leaders at their organization, just like I. We may be off from academic demands but our responsibilities are restless. And so my co-officers with our adviser decided to have an outreach program during the sem break.

This is my third time to visit the orphanage and each one is different. There’s something to it – the feels, the anticipation and the role I am playing. I may be a volunteer, an ordinary one with nothing to do but spend time and create memories. But the recent one was something to keep and I do not know what to feel for it.

Being an organizer means you cannot focus on your alaga  or your orphan buddy. But here are the insights from our freshmen volunteers.

Here's Lenon with her orphan buddy. Check out her experience at ariannewritesstuff.wordpress.com

It was my first time to go to an orphanage. Our visit there has been both fun and interesting. Little things like playing a bunch of games or staying by their side for the whole program made them happy and the smile on their faces were priceless because for a moment, I felt like a child again.

-Lenon

Here's Regina with her orphan buddy. Check out her experience at ariannewritesstuff.wordpress.com
Here’s Regina feeding her orphanage buddy.
Here's Heidi with her orphan buddy. Check out her experience at ariannewritesstuff.wordpress.com

 

 It’s been a while since I last attended an outreach program. At first, I really thought that it would just be the same feeling I felt before when I was still young but it is indeed different, the experience is priceless and an eye opener. Before, it was only me who had happiness missing in life and was never satisfied. But when I saw them happy and satisfied with what they have, I realized that I’m not lucky, I’m blessed.

-Heidi

Here's Heidi and Angelie with her orphan buddy. Check out her experience at ariannewritesstuff.wordpress.com

 I have no idea of how they act and how would I act around them but I know they are nice and we will be friends later. You can see to their eyes the joy and happiness. Then it hit me, it was like once in a bluemoon for them to eat fastfood.  We haven’t only made them happy but also we had helped them in our own little.

-Angelie

 

The volunteers have spread love, joy and time by maintaining and keeping camaraderie. It won’t probably end there, the fellowship that was instilled will be kept forever!

 

 

Thoughts about my blog post today? Share you experiences. xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

