Books · List

Lessons Learnt from ‘I Was Here’

 “Life can be hard and beautiful and messy, but hopefully, it will be long.”

It was a month ago since I purchased I Was Here by Gayle Forman and it was just last Tuesday night that I read it seriously. How? Turned the wifi off and get myself to read.

A mystery and a banoffee.
A mystery and a banoffee.

These are the things that this novel taught me. But the situations under each lesson doesn’t have anything to do with the story. But I related quotes under some lessons I caught:

1) Never give up to your friendship.

One may be long gone and you might not have spent so much time together but you are still friends. You need to help them with their unbearable circumstances no matter what.

“I thought we told each other everything. But it turns out, I didn’t know her at all.”

2) Open your doors.

You must not limit yourself. There’s a wide path of opportunities that awaits. Opening your doors may be risky because you’re allowing events to happen and strangers to be your friends. Give it a try and don’t try to shut people out once they knock on your door.

“… we take off walking. Toward my past. Into my future.”

3) Be thankful and contented.

Okay, we are all bombarded with this but it is true. Sometimes we lose ourselves and wish we’re someone else. Some may ask why is their family not a happy and complete one , and that they are with their mom alone. Some may wonder how can they survive their lives with the little they have. Despite all things, we must be thankful. We may not have all the things we wished for, but we still have something to keep. You always have something in you that someone wants to have.

“I’ve always resented her for this, but now I’m wondering if maybe I should be thanking her.”

4) Value your life.

There’s so much to appreciate in life! If you disagree, what were you doing the whole time? There are endless possibilities and so many things to try. You may live a happy, free, cheerful yet confusing, pathetic, ridiculous, stupid one but kick those negatives aside! Your life is so much worth it than you imagined!

“You have taken your first step, not toward death but toward a different way of living your life.”

5) Forgive.

It may be about a mistake we cannot forget, a time where we feel most betrayed or a moment in your life we have been deprived of something. We must forgive as the Lord, our God has forgiven us.

“Christ forgave us. He forgave our sins. That was his gift. But by allowing us to forgive each other, he opened us up to that divine love.”


I Was Here is a novel for frienship, family, contentment, appreciation and forgiveness.

All quotes are by Gayle Forman, I Was Here

It’s not a spoiler, I guess. If you haven’t read it yet I bet you’ll love it too! :)) xx

Leave a Reply

